Finding Happiness within yourself

I guess what I realised about running, for me, is that it is not about anyone else – its not about proving it to someone, or making them proud. For me it’s about what I can do and control. In running, you control the speed, if you want to walk – you walk and when you finish, its only you who can say you have achieved it, and you did it on your own. 

I found this article online: 15 things you should give up to be happy; which got me thinking…I have spent a lot of my life trying to please people, trying to set really high expectations of myself and of others and I always getting disappointed with the results. With running it’s all about me and if I set realistic goals and achieve them then it makes me stronger – both physically and mentally. It has also shown me how I am ready to let go of what others think, let go of the expectations and pressure I/others put on me and just run. 
So I am running for my health and my mind and keeping myself happy. It is not to lose weight because I/others don’t think I am worthy without being a certain weight. Weight after all just a number, so who cares? As long as I can learn to be comfortable in my own skin then that’s all that matters. In the end I only need to worry about how I feel about myself.
OK that’s my rant over, anyway, I guess what I am trying to say is, that it’s all about setting your own goals and changing your own perceptions of yourself. I still have a long way to go to reaching all of my goals but the point is I acknowledge that I need to make myself happy above everything and everyone else, and I acknowledge that in order to do this I need to let go of my past thoughts, habits and feelings in order to attain these goals.

One thought on “Finding Happiness within yourself

  1. mom says:

    again….well done Megs:) it's great to have an activity, like running and even better that you can do it outside and enjoy the weather, scenery and listen to music. you keep on running girl.

    lovin' your blog:)

    Like

Leave a Reply

