Seriously, whats the reason behind drinking so much water?

OK so we all know we need to drink water to keep ourselves hydrated. Most health studies say you should on average drink a minimum of 2 litres of water… but there are some down sides to drinking so much…

According to resources, drinking water helps weight loss by speeding up your metabolism, especially very cold water, and curbing your appetite. You’ll also notice less bloating once your body realises it doesn’t have to retain water, once you start drinking enough. 
So I have been trying to drink more water, ways that I try and do it are the following:
– I got given this awesome consol bottle for Christmas  which I think is about 500 ml, I choose to drink out of glass versus plastic, for the environment and also I have heard its really bad to refill plastic bottles.
– I drink my first bottle on the drive to work (so its one down; three to go) – apparently it is also suppose to wake you up, I am not a morning person so I need all the help I can get… to be honest I have yet seen this benefit
– I usually have my first cup of coffee at 8:30 am; thereafter between 9 and 10 am I try drink my second bottle of water.
– After lunch I drink my third bottle to try keep me full. I keep my water bottle on my desk to remind me to take sips throughout the day.
– I always take a bottle of water to drink while I exercise, 
– an finally my last bottle of water is either on the way home after my work out or at home while I am cooking or eating dinner.
And voila! 2 litres of water done in a day!
Lastly, resources say that the perception is that if you drink this much, you will be constantly running to the bathroom.  Apparently after a few weeks following this program, your bladder tends to adjust and you urinate less frequently but in larger amounts (sorry for the over share).
So by consuming those 2 litres of water throughout the day, you could be on your way to a healthier, leaner body.

References include:
One thought on “Seriously, whats the reason behind drinking so much water?

  1. Mom says:

    as you know Megs i am big on water!!! however it can be difficult to drink water when it is cold outside…..just got to keep into the routine and your body will tell you it needs water as it will get use to drinking that amount everyday:)

    Like

Leave a Reply

