Reaching goals!

This journey started at the beginning of this year with one goal in mind – to weigh less than my boyfriend. It started off with something as big as that, something I was so terribly ashamed of that I was pushed into either accepting that I was to forever be the fatty girlfriend or to actually get up off the couch and doing something about it.

As it turns out the weight is actually not the issue – the way I felt about me was. I lost a lot of confidence when I started picking up weight, and it affected my mood and stress levels too. I just gave up at one point. But all that has changed. This year marks the first time ever in my life where I have set a goal regarding my weight and actually achieved it realistically.

I stopped weighing myself every week, as long as I worked out atleast 3 times a week I was happy and proud of myself. I set mini goals for myself every time I am at the gym – to work out as hard as possible, push myself to try new routines, run faster etc.

I have controlled my portions (not eating the same size as my boyfriend!) but I haven’t drastically changed my diet, to be honest my diet was never completely unhealthy.

The big thing for me personally was that I started running, and more than that I started entering races in advance and committing to it. Spending money on entering meant that I knew I had to run, and i knew I wanted to keep improving on my times, so I had to train hard to achieve my personal best time.

Over and above everything, I started enjoying working out and running. I started feeling happy and more confident again. I found myself, a new and improved version of the Megan I had never met before (and I really like her!), and I started to see results which has driven the process forward!

So have a look at my goals below… what started off as one goal has now expanded, I challenge myself every day to reach these goals and after achieving the first few, I know I am capable of achieving these goals.

The best part of this week is that I weighed myself for the first time since may and I have lost 5kg’s, I am now officially NOT the fatty girlfriend! I weigh less than my man and I am on to the next goal!  So watch this space!

4 thoughts on “Reaching goals!

Leave a Reply

