Recap of the MTN Marathon

So I did it. I ran. I ran my first race since 14 Feb! No surprises I did not come first, but I am OK with that! But seriously, I am so chuffed that I ran! So happy with myself, I may just sit on the couch for the rest of the weekend! I have earned it. πŸ™‚

a8f751cef48837036ca2ceecef086e02
Here is a review of the race and some pics:

Distance: I did the 10km, the baby race as some might say, but hey – I will get to doing half marathons. I just need some training first!

Weather Conditions: It was freezing, I was feeling happy and excited at the start, Rob not so much.
image

Parking/Traffic: This race was fortunately very close to home for us, this is a first! So we decided to walk to the start and walk back after. It was about 1.5km walk to the start. So the walk there was a nice warm up and got rid of most of my pre-race jitters and warmed us up a bit. I dunno why but I get so nervous before a race! The walk back I just wanted bed but I was happy not to be stuck in a car waiting to get out of the venue!

Event Organisation:Β  Really well organised, alot of Marshalls and police managing it! And we started on time!

Water stations:Β  There were 3 stations, so one every 3km, which I think is pretty good. Offering coke and water.

Marshalls: Marshalls were super patient and encouraging, really knew what they were doing in terms of managing cars on the road.

Medal: Ok, so little fact about me – this is one of the main reasons I enter races, for the medal! No seriously! I love the recognition of the medal. Check out the one I got below in my pics! πŸ™‚

Vibe on the road: when we started out, everyone was quiet (probably freezing)
image

But then we met groups of ppl along the way singing and cheering, so that was fun. We met these three old guys on the road. They were running ahead of me (gawd). Busy talking about comrades which is a 90km race, happened last weekend. The guy in the pink has done comrades 15 times,the other guy with the red cap has done it 11 times. Such an inspiration, really!
image
I ran a good time, well good for me, finished in the1 hour, 17minutes. So i was happy!
image
 

4 thoughts on “Recap of the MTN Marathon

  1. Congrats! I don’t have any medals yet but maybe one day. I think that since I can’t full on run anymore I may train to walk/run some races. I’m not sure yet. I don’t like the training but crossing the finish line is awesome. As you well know. It always freaks me out when people twice my age are whipping right by me. πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

