New Recipe: Baked Eggplant

In the spirit of trying new recipes and find low carb/starch recipes I stumbled across this recipe for a Healthy Baked Eggplant. I have always been a bit scared to try recipes that involve eggplant, they always seem like a bit of a mission. This is anything but! It was so easy – and so flipping tasty!

Like all recipes, I adapted this one too 🙂

Put the oven on at 200C. Then I cut the eggplant in half and shoveled out the inside. Then I brushed it with a bit of oil.

Eggplant IMG-20140701-WA0003

Then I put Onions, and garlic into a frying pan, with chopped green pepper and half a tin of chopped tomatoes. Let that simmer and fry… mmmm yum

onions, tomatoes, green peppers and garlicThen in a separate pan, with the eggplants facing down, I fried them for about 5min, then flipped them and fried for another 3minutes.

frying eggplant IMG-20140701-WA0006

In an oven proof dish, I placed the eggplant in, and put the filling inside the shells. Cover it and back for 20min.

IMG-20140701-WA0008Then I added a bit of cheese to the top and baked for a further 10min…. So delish! definitely a must try!

cheesy baked eggplant

One thought on “New Recipe: Baked Eggplant

Leave a Reply

