Week 6 of 12 Half Marathon Training: HALF WAY!

Confession time.

confessionI took the week off. I didn’t run, or exercise all week!

After my 12km on Sunday, my legs felt really tired so I gave myself Monday off. But by Tuesday my legs and knees were still sore and I had a moment of “I am tired of feeling tired and sore” – So I sulked and didn’t run Tuesday, or Wednesday. By Thursday I was kinda happy I hadn’t run and decided to break until Sundays race (the Sandton to Soweto 10km).

In the end I have no regrets for taking the week off. My legs were kind to me on Sunday – I had no pain while running (except a niggling knee) and I finished strong and in good time (1hr 16min).

What has this week taught me? Well perhaps I have been over doing my training just a bit.

Most people when they train for a half marathon (at my level of fitness) just focus on running the required Km’s a week – with no strength training. I am not saying that is the right way to go about it. I really do believe my strength training will help my legs in the long run. But what it says is that I perhaps need to slow down and take the required rest days.

rest-day-big-deal-1So here is this week’s plan:

  • Monday: Rest Day after yesterday’s run
  • Tuesday: 8km run; and RPM in the afternoon
  • Wednesday: Rest Day
  • Thursday: 10km Hills training; and BodyPump
  • Friday: Rest Day
  • Saturday: 10km Long and Slow Run
  • Sunday: Rest Day

I am at this point in my training where I want to be so much more ahead of where I am – I want to be fitter, stronger and faster. But I think the most important thing I can do is stop and listen to my body. As the weeks go by toward my first 21km, the runs will increase in distance so its a good thing I learn this important fact sooner rather than later. I don’t want to burn myself out to the point where I don’t get to run at all.

mind-2-body-pilates-gym-inspiring-fitness-quotes-sayings-take-care-of-your-body-exercise-motivational-statements-famous-quotesSo what is your confession this week? How is your training going? What are your plans for this week? Do you take the right amount of rest days for your body?

One thought on “Week 6 of 12 Half Marathon Training: HALF WAY!

Leave a Reply

