Thinking Out Loud Thursdays #3: The Story Of Jack

On this fine Thursday in Joburg I am pondering various arb thoughts. Not sure what Thinking Out Loud Thursdays are about? Check out here.

Are you a Dog or a Cat person?

Take this quiz here. Such a funny blog post from a friend of mine. This post got me thinking about how I am very much a dog person. I dislike cats a lot. Its a weird and not so wonderful story. See my mum is highly allergic to cats so we never had a cat growing up. They are very unfamiliar to me, hence I don’t really like them. But I also have never met a friendly cat. I have met angry, bitchy, bossy, stuck up and just plain mean cats instead. So I guess you could say, they started my dislike really. I have mentioned it before but basically Rob and I bought a house so we could get a pet.

Rob never had a dog growing up, so he was a big kid about it and wanted a dog desperately. We wanted (still want) a Lab but our little garden is just not big enough for a big dog so we looked at various smaller breeds. Breeds with a bit of personality and unlimited cuteness. It was down to three breeds in the end: Pug, Boston Terrier or French Bulldog. A friend contacted me early Jan this year and told me about a breeder selling Pug puppies and so with that, the decision was made.

Jack 4 weeks
We chose Jack when he was just 4 weeks old. well, he chose us really. He was the biggest in the litter and he stood on his brothers and sisters heads to get to us. Rob reached out and picked him up and it was love at first sight. He was slightly darker in colouring than his other fawn brothers and sisters. We just knew he was the one for us.

Jack and Rob

So we chose him then had to wait an agonizing 2 weeks till he had his shots and could safely leave his mommy. In the meantime we came up with his name. His name is two fold really. On the one side he is named after an Arsenal soccer player, Jack Wilshire. And secondly, he is named after my nanny noo -noo (my Canadian Grandma), Jackie.

Jack and DadWe picked him up on a Tuesday, in a box with a Teddy and an old t shirt that had his mom’s smell on. From day one he had our hearts and he owned the house. He has more toys than some kids!

Jack and his toysI have also been doing the proper mummy thing to do and documenting his months with us. Each month on the 20th he gets a pic and a shout out.

6months of jack 7 monthsYesterday was his 8 months B-Day. Anyway, this is just a random post about how much I love my pug child Jack. Happy Birthday little guy, you are so very much loved. X

Jack 8 months

So are you a dog or a cat person? Do you treat your pet like your fur child?

 

21 thoughts on “Thinking Out Loud Thursdays #3: The Story Of Jack

  1. Meg, you’re little guy is awesome and your passion and love for him shines through in your prose. I love a good, solid piece of writing about one’s loves in life 🙂 Jack is really a little cute guy….you give me dog envy!

    Like

  2. Jack is adorable! I loved hearing “his” story.
    We have a cat. And as most cat owners, we claim that he is the coolest.
    We got a dog in January – a miniature schnauzer named Max.
    I can’t decide if I am a cat or a dog person. I know that I am my cat and my dog’s person.
    (check out my blog for tales of these two terrors! Sure you’ll see a few pics of them in Insta)

    Like

  3. The ‘aww’ factor of this entire post is through the roof! I remember when my girl was just a baby, but I was six at the time so I had no access to a camera and thus watched her grow up without any adequate documentation. The photo-a-month idea is so cool! Definitely stealing that next time 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

